top of page
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Cotton Candy Killer Review


Publication date : September 2020

  • Print length : 228 pages

  • Publisher : Solstice Publishing (September 3, 2020)

  • Language: : English

  • Author Mary Holt






This is my first read by author Mary Holt and the second book in this series.

Main character Raven is haunted by the memory of having to kill her husband to escape an abusive marriage. Everything she thinks about is connected to this and she is afraid she

will soon be caught.


Not only this there are other murders taking place in this book and she

seems to always somehow be connected to them so

is she the guilty party?


I'll have to admit there where things I liked and disliked about this book.


I enjoyed the author's explanation of Raven's service dog and how involved it was. Service dogs are very important and the author did an excellent job of tying in

the service dog with the disabled character.


I did not like the author talking about women's breasts at least three times. There is no need for that in this type of book. I also do not enjoy the writing style this author presents, it's not smooth and fluid it's just all over the place jumping from one thing to another seemingly without thought therefor I could not make a connection with any of the characters and can not recommend this book.


Published September 4th 2020 by Independently Published.

I was given a complimentary copy of this book. Thank you.

All opinions expressed are my own.






Only Raven knows her missing and estranged husband is, in fact, dead. She knows because she killed him. Another murdered body has landed at her feet, and she must uncover the killer before the police investigation stumbles across her crime. Raven cannot allow her significant disability to interfere but must use it to her advantage before

her prey turns the tables.





For twenty years, I was a foster mom to two profoundly disabled young women. They became the center of the family, and everyone who knew us, knew them. We traveled all over the US and Canada, schlepping wheelchairs, oxygen tanks, G-tube feeding supplies and medications for six weeks at a time every summer.


The idea for Raven was born from my experience with the girls. Though one was non-verbal and the other used very few words, they knew so much more than they were able to express. I would make a terrible eye-witness to a crime, but they noticed the smallest changes in their surroundings.



Raven is nothing like my daughters, but I shall be forever grateful to them for allowing me to share their world. These days, I am a roving retiree living on the road with my husband, and my biological daughter has taken over daily care of her foster sister.


Look for occassional articles from me, found in International Living Postcards, as well.


Thanks for reading.



Thanks for stopping by.




bottom of page