top of page
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

A Family for Gracie (Amish of Pontotoc #3) (Review)


My Review

This is the beautiful third book in the Amish of Pontotoc series. Sweet Gracie gets her own story as we revisit this series taking place in Pontotoc,Mississippi. I love this series by Amy Lillard and was so excited to read this book. Gracie has always yearned for a family of her own. Matthew needs a wife and mamm for his children after his wife's death. He has memories of her in better times before depression hits her. I really felt for the baby crying constantly missing her mother. The book deals with some deep issues but the author deals with them with class and compassion. All marriage is hard work especially when you don't know your spouse very well and children from a previous relationship factor into the equation. With Gracie wanting a baby of her own and Matthew not wanting more children it causes friction between them. When it's time to let go and let God the importance and family and faith shine through. Highly recommended! Expected publication: July 30th 2019 by Zebra. I was given a complimentary copy of this book. Thank you. All opinions expressed are my own.

GoodReads Summary

For the Amish of Pontotoc, Mississippi, faith and family are everything--even when they pose the greatest challenge . . . Gracie Glick is known for being the helpful one, always available for a relative in need. But now that she's longing for a home and family of her own, it's time to help herself. With few eligible men in Pontotoc, Gracie's choices, and her time, are limited. So she takes a bold leap of faith: she proposes to Matthew Byler, a handsome, recently widowed, father of five. It's not until after they're married that Gracie learns Matthew doesn't want more children . . . With his grief still fresh, and his children needing care while he tends to his farm, Gracie is the answer to Matthew's prayers. But a marriage in name only suits him fine. And when he finally tells Gracie the dismaying reason why, they must decide whether to continue together--or apart. It's a choice that will force them both to look deeper into their hearts than ever before . . . Praise for Amy Lillard and her Wells Landing novels "An inspirational story of romance, faith, and trust . . . will appeal to fans of Wanda Brunstetter and Beverly Lewis." --Library Journal on Caroline's Secret "Fans of inspirational romance will appreciate Lillard's vivid characters and positive message." --Publishers Weekly

About The Author

Born

in Corinth, MS, The United States

Website

http://www.amylillardbooks.com

Twitter

AmyLillard918

Genre

Romance, Mystery, Romance

I'm a wife, mother, and bona fide Southern belle. Published author, expert corn bread maker, and Squirrel Princess. I live in Tulsa, though I was born in Mississippi. I moved to the Sooner State when I was seventeen and met my soul mate and best friend not long after. I've retained a little of my Mississippi accent though most people think I'm from Texas. (?) Rob and I have been married for over twenty years and have a son--a mom proclaimed prodigy, of course! I love homemade tacos, nail polish, and romance novels--not necessarily in that order. I'm a big fan of country music, a staunch proponent of saving the Oxford comma, and I'm shamefully obsessed with all things Harry Potter. I believe that God is love. I guess that's why I adore romances. I have always been intrigued with the Amish culture, their gentle ways and slower-paced lifestyle. (And I love, love, love the fact that they stay married for their lifetime.) But until recently I never thought to blend this interest with my penchant for romance. Okay, okay, I'm a bit old-fashioned and even enjoy the gender roles that are present in this culture. I love to cook and take care of my family. Yes, that's me June Cleaver with a laptop. I dislike people trying to convince me to read the Twlight series (I'll get to it or I won't, either way I'm good with it), gratuitous violence, and strawberry ice cream. (I know I'm alone on this last one, and again, I'm good with it.) Favorite movies--(besides HP) French Kiss, Maid of Honor, A Lot Like Love, Just Married, and Sweet Home Alabama. Oh, and Miss Congeniality, Sabrina (both versions) and a 1940's movie called Dear Ruth. If you haven't seen it, you should! A-dorable. Anything with Doris Day and most all of Marilyn's and Audrey's.

Thank you for visiting my blog today.

Please subscribe and comment.

bottom of page