top of page
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

My Heart Belongs in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania: Clarissa's Conflict (Review)


My Heart Belongs in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania: Clarissa's Conflict

Murray Pura

Paperback, 256 pages

Published November 1st 2018 by Barbour Books

Book Summary

When War Reaches Clarissa’s Back Door, the Trustworthy Become Even Fewer. Journey into Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, of 1863 where Clarissa Avery Ross lives a full life. By day she is the daughter of a respectable shoemaker being courted by seminary student Kyle Forrester. But by night she is a conductor on the Underground Railroad, working with a mysterious man called Liberty. She would like to share her work with Kyle, but he refuses to enlist when the war breaks out. How can she remain true to a man being labeled a coward? When the war comes to her back door in an epic battle, the greatest challenges to her faith and love are yet to come.

My Review

I have thoroughly enjoyed reading the My Heart Belongs series and this one was no exception! I live 40 minutes from Gettysburg and have enjoyed going there many times. We get right into the thick of things with the battle ranging around us. The author's descriptions and research are much appreciated and made me feel as though I was right there with the scrap of a red-headed heroine. She's a brave oneand won't back down from anyone. Mentions of Quakers,Amish,quilts,abolitionist,Underground Railroads and faith fill the book. I love how faith was immersed in the writing. The author really brings this time period to life! Pub Date 01 Nov 2018 I was given a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing, Inc. through NetGalley. Thank you. All opinions expressed are my own.

bottom of page