top of page
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

River to Redemption (Review)


River to Redemption by Ann H. Gabhart

Genres: Historical,Historical Fiction,Christian Fiction,Romance

Paperback, 336 pages

Published Published July 3rd 2018 by Revell

Book Summary

Orphaned in the cholera epidemic of 1833, Adria Starr was cared for by a slave named Louis, a man who stayed in Springfield, Kentucky, when anyone with means had fled. A man who passed up the opportunity to escape his bondage and instead tended to the sick and buried the dead. A man who, twelve years later, is being sold by his owners despite his heroic actions. Now nineteen, Adria has never forgotten what Louis did for her. She's determined to find a way to buy Louis's freedom. But in 1840s Kentucky, she'll face an uphill battle. Based partly on a true story, Ann H. Gabhart's latest historical novel is a tour de force. The vividly rendered town of Springfield and its citizens immerse readers in a story of courage, betrayal, and honor that will stick with them long after they turn the last page.

My Review

One of my favorite books I've read this year. I love a book that challenges me. How did this one challenge me? It had information about the cholera epidemic of 1833 which challenged me to look up more information about it. I love when a book does this. The author has evidently done her research on the historically rich book. Amazingly this book is based on true facts. Louis, the slave was an amazing person.

Totally selfless! Very impressed by this book. Pub Date 03 Jul 2018 I was given a complimentary copy of this book by Revell through NetGalley. All opinions expressed are my own.

bottom of page